So I’ve wanted to start a little painting guide for Flames of War for a long while now, and I finally got around to it. I was going to start a new blog but then remembered I already have one up and why not just keep going off of that one? Yeah its been far to long since i last updated this.

So to start things off right i decided on one of the most feared tanks of WWII, the Tiger II. Up until the end of the war the Americans never had an answer for this beast, the front armour was impenetrable by anything we had. Flames of War is a great game that lets us WWII buffs throw down some of those battles without all the pesky breakdowns that the Germans had to deal with.

As far as painting goes i use a combination of paints by Panzer Aces, Model Color, Golden Acrylics, and Citadel.

So here we have the model in its base coat of German yellow using the FoW primer:

From here I wanted to do a striped ambush camouflage pattern that I combined from a couple different  influences. Using Panzer Aces #301 Light Rust and Model Color #70894 Cam. Olive Green i painted wide stripes diagonally along the tank using a little paper guide that i made from a note card. Once down with that i added the ambush dots using Model Color #70913 Yellow Ochre and Cam. Olive Green.

After getting the main camo pattern on the next thing i do is get the treads done. I start with Golden Acrylics Carbon Black across all the treads and inside the wheels without going over the road wheels. if you get a little on the wheels no biggy, I doubt if they were ever all that clean at any point so when you do your wash it will all blend together. After they are all black i highlight with Panzer Aces #338 Highlight German I (Feldgrau) across the raised part of the treads and along the side and inside edges. Yeah, its probably not the proper highlight color but the more i can muti use my colors the better. I don’t need a collection of all colors just to use once or twice in diminutive amounts.

I do the same with the extra treads on the side of the turret, the only difference being that i actual use Model Color #70862 Black Grey for the tracks just so that its not too dark, it works better for contrast in my opinion.

After letting the tracks dry i finish up the rest of the details. The tools strapped to the tank, the steel cables, the exhaust pipes, the tank commander, darkening the end of the barrel, and of course any cleaning up. A little Burnt Sienna for the handles of tools, silver for the ends, Black Grey for the cables with a dry brushing of silver, and Black Grey for the exhaust pipes. I don’t get to fancy with colors. Keep it simple.

The commander’s uniform is Model Color #70995 German Grey, generally tankers uniforms were black but i like a little detail in my guys without going crazy with highlights, so German Grey is all i use and i think it turns out pretty well. Panzer Aces #341 Flesh Base for skin, more Highlight German I for the headphones, a little yellow for his hair, and some straight Panzer Aces #313 Stencil for the white on the collar and hat.

After everything is to my liking i pull out the good old Citadel black wash. Nothing fancy here, mine is a little watered down but no to any consistent amount. Just coat everything and you get a nice dirty, weathered look. The only thing i don’t wash is the commanders uniform. When it comes to late war German tanks, i doubt if they ever really had the time or the want to keep their tanks all that clean, so i feel its fairly historically accurate.  Here it is all done:

I’m not a professional model painter by any means, just a regular guy trying to do his best. So keep that in mind when you judge my work. I hope this helps somebody out there.

